Latest News

Latest News



Join us in Syracuse!

Join us in Syracuse, New York, for the 71st Annual Section Meeting, September 19–21, 2019.  We are delighted to be meeting in the beautiful heart of New York State at this colorful time of year. A vibrant and vigorous program will cover a wide array of topics in urology with presentations by distinguished speakers from both within and outside the Section.

  • The Surgeon's Role and State of the Opioid Epidemic
  • Transition to Adult Care for Patients with Congenital Urological Diseases
  • Multiparametric MRI Before Prostate Biopsy:  Are We There Yet?
  • Beyond BTs and BDG:  Complex Cases in Bladder Cancer
  • Simulation-Based Team Training for Surgical Complications and Crisis Resource Management
  • Recurrent Priapism
  • The Combined Role of Surgery and Chemotherapy in the Treatment of Metastatic Testicular Cancer
  • AUA Course of Choice – Clinically Relevant Lectures for Advanced Practice Providers

Come experience the charm, energy, and history Syracuse has to offer. While we realize that there are many meetings this time of the year you can consider attending, please join us in an intimate setting that allows close interaction with leaders in urology from both the U.S. and Canada. Keep up with innovative science and take in the sights and scents of autumn!

Register Today
Book Hotel
View Program

Annual Business Meeting

The Northeastern Section Annual Business Meeting will be held on Saturday, September 21, 2019 at 7:30 a.m. in the Persian Terrace of the Syracuse Marriott Hotel. The agenda will include reports from the officers, as well as approval of new members and the report of the Nominating Committee. Annual Business Meetings are a great opportunity to learn about current Section projects, programs, and membership, vote on important Section matters and planning for future opportunities of the Section.

Bylaws Changes this year relate to:

Article II – Membership. Renaming of Candidate Members, updated language about the Election/Approval of members, new language related to recertification and decertification to conform with AUA's processes, updated language which defines Senior membership also conforming to AUA.

Article V – Committees. Revisions made to the composition of the Investment Committee to allow flexibility in the appointment of up to two members annually. Clarification about the composition of the Nominating Committee.

Track Changes to the Section bylaws can be viewed here.


Application Period for 2020-2021 Leadership Program Now Open

Applications for the 2020-2021 AUA Leadership Program are now being accepted. The AUA Leadership Program is a year-long development program that matches aspiring leaders in the field of urology with experienced mentors who can share their career experiences as urologists and leaders of the AUA.

Spread the word to Section members you feel would make valuable contributions to this program and encourage them to apply before the December 31 deadline.

Apply Today!

SWIU Residents Grants

The Society of Women in Urology established the Outstanding Resident Award to honor residents who fulfill the mission of SWIU – to advance the career development and professional success of women urologists – and who have been a mentors and / or supporters for other residents and students. The award will be presented at the SWIU Winter Meeting. Award recipients will be presented with an award certificate and receive a Resident Travel Award (worth $750) to attend the meeting.

Appropriate candidates for this award are women residents who are PGY3 and above and have demonstrated a significant impact on their colleagues and medical students in their clinical, academic, and professional development. Candidates can self-nominate or be nominated by others.

Apply Today!

AUA Census

The American Urological Association (AUA) Annual Census is a specialty-wide survey of all members in the urology community across the globe. This critical survey will provide important information on urology workforce and practice to clinicians, policymakers, patients, payers and the general public. Participating in the AUA Annual Census, which takes approximately 10 minutes, will help promote our specialty and inform policy. More details about the Census are available here.

The 2019 Census is in the field through the end of September. If you haven't already done so, please participate. Each year the AUA holds a friendly competition among the eight AUA Sections to see which Section has the highest percentage of members participate in the Census, Please view current Section Race rankings as of the end of June.

Also, any AUA Section that receives a response rate of 40% or more will have enough data to generate a Census report specifically for the Section.

Register Now! StoneLab Scientific Symposium: Thinking Outside the Box for Kidney Stone Disease

This meeting, co-hosted by the AUA and the Endourological Society, is focused on This meeting, co-hosted by the AUA and the Endourological Society, is focused on interdisciplinary and innovative translational research in kidney stone disease and will be held on December 6–7, 2019 at AUA Headquarters in Linthicum, Maryland. The symposium will create an opportunity where premier kidney stone and nephrology researchers can come together with experts in biomedical engineering, physics, chemistry, artificial intelligence, and medical device design and development, with the aim of "thinking outside the box" in the search for advances in kidney stone treatment. The travel award application deadline is September 23, 2019.

Register Today!